I believe the Church, guided by the Holy Spirit, did a very good thing today.   Canon Melissa Skelton, Canon for Congregational Development and Rector of St. Paul’s, Seattle was elected the 9th Bishop of New Westminster, BC, Canada today at their Electoral Synod in Vancouver.   She was elected on the third ballot.  You can get the full story and news on their website: Diocese of New Westminster.   The Consecration and Ordination of the Reverend Canon Skelton will take place at a place and time to be announced later, on St. David’s Day, March 1st, 2014.

As I said in my notice of this election this past week, we will win either way, but it is certainly a decision with mixed emotions here in Olympia.  Melissa has blessed us with her many skills in so many tremendous ways.  We are much richer for her presence with us over these years.  I cannot envision my Episcopate without her.  I hope you will join me in congratulating her, while also holding in our prayers, our diocese, the Diocese of New Westminster, the people of St. Paul’s, Queen Anne, and of course, Melissa in this time of transition.

Blessings,
+Greg