So, I am checking in.  This year’s Lenten reading, the Bible, is a bit individual, less collaborative than in year’s past, or that is what I have heard some say, but I am not sure it has to be.   I know many of you are sharing this experience and I appreciate your willingness to give it a try.

I also heard, when I first announced this, things like “but you know better, the Bible is not supposed to be read this way”  or even “Episcopalians don’t read the Bible straight through.”  Going on to explain that we use the historical-critical method, we don’t take it at face value, some even suggesting that what I was asking was dangerous: the Bible in the hands of those who aren’t as smart as we are!   In short, some of the same arguments used when a translation into English was suggested some many hundreds of years ago.

Certainly, I agree with what is behind these sentiments.  The Bible, and those who preceded us in living it, deserve our undivided attention and study.  But, they also began with this same story, it is our story, and it is worth reading as story.

Today is day 66 for me because I started this on January 1st, believing I needed to give it all a try before I asked you to.  I have found it to be a good discipline.  I have rediscovered the continuity of the story, the oddness in some of it, the mystery and wonder.

So, I write to check in, to invite you to share any insights you have after having done it, or even criticisms, concerns, observations, reflections.  May you be blessed in this Lenten journey.

+Greg