As I watched the sad news from New Jersey, New York, and the eastern seaboard I saw an interview with a woman who was ranting about the New York Marathon, when they thought it would continue on. (By the way, I am totally glad they did not run)  but as she spoke she opined that with so many people without blankets, and cold, and hungry, it made no sense for such a thing as the New York Marathon to go on with all of the resources it would zap.

Of course, all of that was just as true the day before the storm, and the week before that, and the month before that.  There were people in the city without blankets, and cold, and hungry.   It is always like that.   That fact, is a storm of sorts, but not one that garners much of our attention.  Perhaps it matters what “kind” of people are in distress to qualify as an emergency.   When those who look like me are the ones in distress, well it just brings it all much closer to me.
I am heartened by the response to Sandy and only can hope for more, the best response.  But I think we would do well to try to figure out how we rate storms, and how we are so easily able to discount, and even ignore, some of the raging storms all around us?
+Greg