As you are all aware by now the coronavirus, now named COVID-19,  has been found here in King County and the West Coast.  While we were meeting in our Governing Bodies Retreat Saturday we heard the news that the first US death from this virus had occurred right here.   The day before I published a video regarding this and our diocesan website opened up a resource page for individuals and congregations.

As is expected, I have heard from quite a few, mostly positive and appreciative emails.  And, as expected, in situations like this many become an expert or a critic, or both!  I do not claim to be an expert, and I am trying not to be a critic.

So, I wanted to follow up with this posting.

-I was clear in the video that I am not a scientist or physician.  That is a fact, and I don’t deny it nor do I say otherwise.

-I am not “requiring” anything at this point, and quite frankly, I am not even sure I could.  However I have asked Judy Andrew’s, our Chancellor, to review that authority and advise me.  I suspect I could be more directive to mission congregations in the future if need be.  I could also be more directive of clergy under my charge, but at this point I do not intend that at all, and would avoid that if at all possible. That could change.

-so to reiterate, “the Bishop” is not telling you to do anything.  “The Bishop” is offering some advice, and some research, and the resources we have at hand at this point in order to try to bring some factual conversation to the fore.

-Finally, there is a remarkable freedom in all of this.  Any individual can decide to receive communion in both kinds, one kind, or not at all.   No one is going to be forced to do anything, and, meanwhile, I trust the leadership of all of our congregations to do this in a thoughtful and studied way.

So, as I have had several emails conflicting of, disparaging of, or concerned by my suggestions and/or directions, in the spirit of transparency, and only with their permission, all such emails will be posted on this blog as a comment, and on our diocesan website as a comment, so that everyone can benefit from the wisdom and expertise of those who have other thoughts on the matter.  Comments on this blog are just below, and comments on our diocesan website can be found, starting this Tuesday, by going to the COVID-19 Resource page   You can see my video there as well should you care to watch it.

Most of all, pray for all of those affected by this virus, the flu, and all that is going around right now.  Pray for our municipalities and officials as they make difficult decisions about what to do, how to contain, and how to treat those affected.

Prayer for People Critically Ill or Facing Great Uncertainty

God of the present moment,

God who in Jesus stills the storm

and soothes the frantic heart;

bring hope and courage to all

who wait or work in uncertainty.

Bring hope that you will make them the equal

of whatever lies ahead.

Bring them courage to endure what cannot be avoided,

for your will is health and wholeness;

you are God, and we need you.

-Adapted from New Zealand Prayer Book, p. 765